Showing posts with label curl pattern. Show all posts
Showing posts with label curl pattern. Show all posts

Monday, December 23, 2013

In Pursuit of a Curl Pattern: Caring for Children's Curls

Hi Folks! It's been a while since we've heard from Kiki but she's back to give us an update on her curl pattern pursuit.  She's also sharing techniques on how she cares for her beautiful children's curly hair.  We will call them Princess K and Princess J. 
 
Here is Kiki in her own words.
 
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Wow,  I am at Day 80!  NO HEAT!   Yeah, I am still wearing protective styles.  Here is the latest one.  My curl pattern has double to about 3 inches.  Wahoo!  But, all I can do is wait and keep wearing these protective styles - NO BIG CHOP for me.  So, I turn my attention to Princess K and Princess J.  They have beautiful curl patterns and I am green with envy.
 
Day 80 - protective style
 
Let's start with Princess K:


Princess K's hair is easy peesy. The only non-positive thing about it is that it is somewhat fine.  So when it's is straightened, it can look limp and thin.  Otherwise Princess K has wash and go hair.  It doesn't take much heat to straighten, curl,  and blow dry.   Her hair is a soft, pliable grade.  It response well to any shampoo, conditioner, mousse, gel... whatever...  I can wash her every every week and spend less than 2 hours, start to finish.   This is the style that we do when she is wearing her hair natural.  I wash it, condition it, detangle with big tooth comb, add a curling product.  Most any curl enhancing product will work well.  This time we used Tahlia Waajid Curly Curl Cream.  This and this is what happens.  Easy! 


Princess K's wash and go curls
 
 
Princess J is another story: 
 
Her hair is very thick and it requires that you use the "right" products for deep conditioning and detangling.  It takes me several hours to do Princess J's hair.   You have to used a multi -phased approach to get to the desired result.  Fortunately, I discovered that Bees Wax works wonders on her natural tresses.   I started sectioning her hair after blow drying it, applying some Bees Wax and twisting it. I did this once a week.  
 

Princess J's freshly washed and twisted hair using Beeswax
 
 After the 3rd week of doing this, I noticed that her hair was very soft  and had a nice sheen to it.  After washing her hair it was far less tangled.  I have been using the same products on her hair for years, so I know that it was the Bees Wax!    AMAZING! 
 
 
 
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 
Great progress Kiki and your children are ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS!  Thank you for sharing with us! I love the fact that you are keeping their hair natural. 
 
Stay posted!  There's more to come from this family of curlies!
 
 
Peace and blessings!

Thursday, September 26, 2013

A Curly Pudding Review....Going Through the Motions!

Hi Folks! I'm still exploring different curl enhancing products to  get the best wash and go routine in my repertoire. So far I've tried Kinky Curly curling custard and As I Am curling jelly.  Why do most curl enhancing products sound like food?? Anyways, I tried something new this week and I actually liked it!

The Pudding: We all know about the Motions brand...in particular that foam wrap lotion we probably all used at one point or another! Well Motions is one of the larger brands that have jumped on the natural hair band wagon and created a "Naturally You" line.   I tried the Hydrate My Curls Pudding.
 

Motions - Hydrate My Curls Pudding
Ingredients: water, mineral oil, glycerin, cyclopentasiloxane, cetearyl, alcohol, cetyl alcohol, glycerl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, dimethicone, cetereth-20, coconut oil, avocado oil, shea butter, laneth -15, DMDM hydantonin, alkyl acrylate ....................................and a whole host of other ingredients I can hardly pronounce.
 
The result: I really like my curls by Motions.  I was able to mold my fro into a chunky one after applying the product.  It dried within 2 hours and left my hair soft and retained the curls.  It did not define my curls like the other products, but there was no residue and I liked the ability to easily mold my curls (15 - 20 minutes). If I did not twist it, I would have been left with a soft fuzzy fro.

After application - note the induced chunky twists



After a long day....the curls are shiny, soft and easy to manipulate
This look is similar to what I can achieve 4-5 days into a twist out.  I like the fact that I can get this look after two hours instead of days.

I'm digging the chunky fro look.....

I'm liking these curls...

 
The conclusion: I like the look this product gave me.  There were two things I didn't like: the amount of synthetic ingredients and the greasy residue.  I put a Jheri curl like grease spot on an exercise mat! LOL!

I will be using this product again.


Has anyone else tried this product?  If so, what was YOUR experience?


Peace and blessings!

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

In Pursuit of a Curl Pattern: Coping skills

Hi Folks!  Kiki is back with another update!  She has not fired up the blow dryer of flat iron despite second guessing her curly journey and not knowing what to do with her hair. 
 
Let's see what she's up to this week!  Here is Kiki in her own words:
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 
Whew,  what's going to happen today?  
 
Will I succumb to temptation and keep straightening my hair?  Do I keep doing what has worked and what will end this journey of suspense?   LOL!   What are my options?  Go back to using heat so I can do something with my hair OR find someone to braid my hair again.   At this time, I am willing to do both but I am resolved to fight for my curl pattern until I succeed or am defeated.  I admit, I don't mind being defeated, but I will try to continue with this journey. 
 
It is Friday at 9am and if I am not going to use heat, the only place I can go is the infamous African Braiding shop near my house.  I hate to give my money to this shop.  They are so trifling but that's another story on another day, another blog.
 
This is what I decided to do:
 

Kinky twists

Kinky twists
 
Well, well well! Who is that and where has she been?  Is this the "me"  that, after having decades of long hair, made a very serious declaration to no longer have hair that passes my shoulders????  WHAT?!  Yep!  Who would have known that on Day 25, Kenya  would return.  Her husband sure did not see that one coming.   Look at his face... Happy, Happy, Happy .   
 
Happy Husband
 
 He keeps staring at me.  Stalker!   I don't have the heart to tell him that it is so temporary, I still don't want long hair and it's not mine.  LOL!    Enjoy it James! 
 
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 
Wow Kiki!!! You are STILL holding strong and I love it!! I'm also glad that the hubby is happy....even if it's only temporary!
 
Kiki is finding ways to cope and is determined to get her curls back.  Transitioning can be tough....but the end result is SO worth it.  Keep it up! 
 
Peace and blessings!
 

Monday, September 23, 2013

A Styling Frenzy!

Hi Folks!  One of the reasons I LOVE my natural hair is the versatility of styles I can create.  I'm the type of person who likes VARIETY! I like variety in my food, clothes, shoes, home décor, and exercise programs. Variety is the spice of life and I like it SPICY! So....I've been trying various styles and products over the last few weeks that help me cope with my growing tresses and the "in between" stages.  Each style expresses my mood or state of mind on that particular day.

                                                    ************************
LOOK #1 - The first style is a wash and go with another curl enhancing product: As I Am - Curl Defining Jelly. It behaves similar to the Kinky Curly curling custard.  The main difference was that it dried within 4-5 hours - but left a white crunchy residue on my curls.  State of mind that day: tired...just needed a quick, presentable look.
 

Ingredients: water, aloe extract, beet root extract, glycerin, hydroxyethlycellulose, xanthan gum, pectin, acid, potassium sorbate, diazolidiny Urea (who?), Iodopropynyl butylcaramate (say what?) fragrance and limonene....
 
The texture is like jelly...goopy like the Kinky Curly custard
 
Right after application.  The instructions said to apply while dripping wet. 

2 hours after application....still wet......but curls are cute

8 hours after application....not wet.....but it looks wet....the curls were defined, but crunchy to the touch

Not too pleased with the crunch...yes that is smudged eye make up....It was a LONG day!

Crunch and white  residue...yes....it's dry....maybe I used too much?  But the curls were well defined.  Any less and I would have been looking like Django again...not sure if this product is for me.....
 
                                                      ***************************
LOOK #2 - The second style is an updo....yes...you heard me I pinned these curls up! :) Check it out! State of mind that day: "I need something new and different!"
 
Front view of the up do (check out my rhyming skills)

Side view

Other side

Other side again...with a peek of the fro on top...

Back/top view - nope...it's not too short to pin up! :)

View from the top

Another back view...the flat twists in the back were challenging due to the various lengths of hair.  I had to redo them twice. In total it took about 25 minutes to complete this look.
                                                    ***************************

LOOK #3 - This third look is my Flo Fro that has been washed, buttered (shea butter) picked and patted smooth while still damp (damp hair conforms better than dry - plus I can pick it out easier and prevent damage/breakage).  State of mind that day: easy freedom!
The smooth Flo Fro!

Side view



Close up!






 

Monday, September 16, 2013

In Pursuit of a Curl Pattern: Kiki's Heat Break

Hi Folks! Kiki is back! 
 
Let's get an update on her curl pattern pursuit.  Here is Kiki in her own words......

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 
Ok, so it's only Day 24 and I am 6 days early in taking the "boy" braids down.  I am doing some serious thinking.  As I am removing the braids, it is obvious that my hair is not long enough for a wet set.  It is still hot where I live and my straight - or damaged, as they say -  hair will not hold a curl.  I don't think that my planned wet set is an option right now.  Am I taking these boy braids out too soon?   TOO LATE!  Why didn't I just wait until 30 days like I planned?  Because I am impatient on this DARN journey that my sister has inspired.   But where is she now?  In a different state.... So, I'ma have ta figure this one out.   Thanks for the support sis! I hope you read this!! :)

Taking the braids out.......
 
The boy braids are gone and it may look like I am smiling but that is not a smile.  It's an eeeeeeeeeeeeeeee , meaning "what the blankity blank have I gotten myself into?  What the blank am I going to do?"  I have no clue so I do what anyone would do - wash, condition and check it out, because heat is not an option........ REALLY?  IS THIS REALLY POSSIBLE?


 
 
 This is how I look after a good wash/condition/detangle/deep condition and just plain ole hoping.



I got nothing!  LOL!  I may have 1/2 inch curl pattern growing in.  I have the same straight - or damaged, as they say - mess that I had on Day 1.  I am not worried though.  I understand that patience is needed for the journey.   Impatience is really not an option for this journey, is it?   I feel so lost at this time.   Since I was 10, I have been doing my hair and I always knew what I was going to do with it.  I have had many different styles, textures, and products.   I have been creative, ordinary, just me and I've worn hats, scarves, braids, and a  wig twice.    But I have never not (excuse that double negative) used any form of heat.   At some point from the time I washed my hair until my hair was completely styled, some form of heat was used.  I am searching through the crevasses of my mind, trying to discover how to not use heat on this head of Day 24 hair.  I don't think that not using any heat it is possible.  So,  I resolve to use minimum heat and sit under my hair dryer on the low cool setting until hair is just dry.
 

I have long way to go!

 
Here is my 1/2 inch curl pattern....
 
Okay..so my hair is dried now and YES, I have a long way to go to get 6 inches of curls.   The temptation to use heat is VERY HIGH at this point.  I am telling you, so high and then I turn around to see this....
 
 
Stalker Husband.....
Seriously, Dude!   Would you quit watching me? I have to laugh at this point.  His face just says what I have been thinking "blankity blank".     So, I am thinking, whatever, I am blowing my hair and tomorrow I am going to have straight, soft, shiny and bouncy hair.   Why am I doing this and my sister won't even return my phone calls?     I went into the bathroom and 5 minutes later this is how I looked.......
 
Ms. Hatti Mattie
 
 I went to bed looking like Ms. Hatti Mattie from the peanut farm.  I am moving on to Day 25.   I can't tell you how I did it.  My sister has so inspired me that when hope is lost the residual effects of inspiration must be getting through!!!!!   I don't have a plan for tomorrow but we will see what happens tomorrow when it comes.....Only Hope and Inspiration know......

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

WOW Kiki!!!  I'm loving the 1/2 inch of curls that I see...and poor HUBBY! He's just trying to figure out what's going on.....LOL!  Thanks for sharing your journey! Hang in there! What you are experiencing is common with women who decide to transition without doing the big chop.  I went through a VERY similar journey when I transitioned.  The interesting thing is that I had a chemical relaxer and Kiki's hair is just heat damaged and very much like a chemical relaxer.  This is a good example of permanent heat damage.  To get the curls back....you gotta grow them in.

Any words of encouragement for Kiki??

Please share!

Peace and blessings!

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

A Curly Custard Review: Wet, Fluffy and Wierd.....

Hi Folks!

The wash and go is an easy style to master......except when your curl enhancing product of choice does not get along with your hair.  I decided to try a  new curl enhancer a few weeks ago.  I liked the curl pattern it gave me, but not the texture, and it took over 24 hours to dry.  So I decided to try it again...and again....to give it a fair shot. 

The Kinky Curly brand has a curling custard that I've spent some time with.  The bottom line is this:  I DO NOT LIKE IT.  I really don't think it's for my type of hair.




Last week when I used it, I didn't apply enough, so my hair was a frizzy, Django unchained mess.  It took up to 9 hours to dry and I felt like people were looking at me thinking:  "Now you know she don't have friends walking around here like that.....Nobody told her that head was a mess?" 

I didn't document my Django experience with photos, but the hubby did ask:  "what's going on with that?!"  I had to agree that I looked a fright, but I didn't have time to fix it...duty called! So I spent the day looking crazy!

Today I decided to give it one more try.....Here is the result:

3 hours after application....my hair is very goopy and slimy

No...those are not beads of dew peppering my curls...it's the curly custard that is hanging out.  Observe the fluffy nature of my hair...not cute.  Not feeling cute right now...

Yuck! Too much goop!

6 hours after application....Feeling like I have on a helmet....or that I belong in the cast of Fraggle Rock.

Note the curly custard droplets....still good and fluffy....

This is going to be a long day..........
12 hours later....my hair is still wet, but the volume is actually decreasing.  The curls are more firm and tight.

The goopy texture is STILL there...and no... those shiny spots are not dew drops...it's still custard.

The curl pattern HAS improved...but now it's time to retire for the evening....so I spent the day looking like Fraggle Rock and now the curls want to get cute.

I'm not pleased with this product....too goopy, sticky and tacky to the touch plus....it takes too long to dry.....it's definitely not for me.



This custard is not for me. I'm sure it works well for other folks...but I'ma have to put this one on the shelf.  If I use it again it will be for a twist out.  I've seen YouTube videos where this product was used for adding rigidity to twist outs. This product may be PERFECT for you....but I've tried it three times and the wash and go style is definitely OUT for me.  The funny thing is that I got two compliments on my hair today............I was stunned.  To me I looked a hot mess.....but beauty is in the of the beholder.......

Time to explore other options! Stay tuned!
 
Let me know what your experience has been with this product. I would love to see pictures and hear back from you!
 
 
Peace and blessings!